Finding happiness in the journey to happiness

Let me ask you something you’ve probably been asked your whole life, either by your parents, your friends, family, teacher, etc: what do you want to do with your life?  It’s a generic question, and we’re always asked this question when it comes to picking our career.  But honestly, what do you want to do with your life?

It’s not a tough question to answer; it’s very easy to say “to be happy,” or “to be famous,” or “to be rich.”  The hard part is figuring out how to get to that point.  Usually those are the things that happen at the end of your journey; they’re our definition of success.  For me, personally, I’m not too concerned about being rich (though, I’m not saying it wouldn’t be nice to be totally loaded), and fame is not important to me either.  It used to be, but not anymore.

I’m married now.  I have a wife, and I have a part time job; right now, we both live with my parents, and I’ve been having to ask myself that question a lot, and even more so, I’ve been trying to figure out how to get to that end point, and fast.

So, what do I want to do with my life?  I want be happy, and to share my happiness with my wife.  I want to provide food and shelter for her, and to eventually start a family; I want  to raise children, and show them what love and compassion is, so that they can share it with the people around them.  That’s what I want; so how do I get there?

Right now, my wife and I live with my parents; so needless to say, while I am content and am able to be with my wife, I’ve not provided her with a home of our own, and we are not in the position to start a family.  That being said, the fact I get to be with my wife every day makes me happy.

I’m hoping to further my career in web development; I’m currently working a contract position somewhere.  It’s a part time gig with a reasonable hourly pay, but it’s not enough to get an apartment here in the bay.  I’m hoping to find out in the next week the possibilities of becoming a full-time, permanent employee.  If that doesn’t happen, I’m immediately going back on a job hunt.

I’ve put in my time and have gained a lot of experience, now I’m looking to start my life-long career.  Right now, there are a LOT of full-time developer positions open where I live.  I’m hoping I can land one of them, and take the next step in my journey to reach my definition of true bliss.

So what’s the point of this blog post?  Well, I have two points.  My first point is that to get what you want, you have to work hard for it.  It takes time.  I’ve defined what I want for my life, and I’m getting closer and closer to it.  In a sense, I’m already there.  I’m married, I’m in love, I’m happy, and I’m lucky to have even that.  But there is more to life than where I’m at, and I’m on my way to obtaining that.

My second point, is that you’re not alone in your journey.  You may be in college studying for a dream career; you may be living with your parents looking for a way out; you may be unemployed looking for a decent job opportunity; you may have a job already, but haven’t yet reached the bliss you’re working toward.  Don’t give up.

It may be discouraging sometimes, but work hard for what you want, and you will get it.  Whether you want to start a family, become rich and famous, to lose weight, have a long-lasting career…whatever the case may be, with time and effort, you can obtain it!  We are all on a journey toward our definition of success in life; it is important not to lose site of it.  I’d like to offer my philosophy to you, that if you take a look at where you are now, compared to where you were – even though you may be far away from your goal – your hard work is indeed paying off, and as long as you continue to work hard, you will reach your goal, and there is pure bliss and joy to be found in that.

So all this time, I’m working my ass off to reach this goal, and though I have yet to obtain it, I can rest in the fact that I’m getting closer and closer to it, and that though my journey is far from over, I’m closer to my goal than I was yesterday, and tomorrow I’ll be even closer.

Today, I am going to work hard as I do every day, in the hopes that one day I will reach my goal.  Know that you’re not alone in your journey.  And with that, I hope I’ve brought you some encouragement.  Stay on your path, you will eventually reach your finish line, and be rewarded your trophy.

One thought on “Finding happiness in the journey to happiness

  1. I love this post! You’ve got it! I know that I am engaged and living at my parents’ house right now. And it is hard, but you and I both have such amazing people in our lives that support and love us. With the right attitude and hard work, you know you will get to where you want to be. 🙂 Have a happy day!

Leave a Reply

